The town of East Moriches derived its name form Native American, Indian Mertices, who lived near the bay on the Paquatuck River. The settlers of the area developed a relationship with the Native Americans trading gun powder and muskets and teaching each other different ways of survival.
Infrastructure in East Moriches began during the 1700‘s with a bit of controversy form private landowners coming to an agreement of where main roads would exist. In 1881, the Long Island Railroad built a station in East Moriches to serve Moriches, Center Moriches and East Moriches. Just after the turn of the century, electricity was brought to the area by the Patchogue Electric Light Company, which was taken over by the Long Island Lighting Company in 1964. On July 17, 1996, East Moriches became internationally known as the tragedy of TWA Flight 800 became a harsh reality. The local U.S. Coast Guard Station was utilized by any emergency responders and was a great asset to a day never to be forgotten by the east end of Long Island.
Today East Moriches is the paradigm of a small town with an enchanting local vibe. At the end of the historic Atlantic Ave are convenient marinas and a restaurant with breathtaking views at any time of the day. Recent to having two stop lights in town, the Main Street of East Moriches continues to hold a precious atmosphere with quaint shoppes, boutiques, and delicious cuisines.